Community Committees

Community Committees are set up by the Council to deal with local issues specifically in the townships of Meremere, Te Kauwhata, and Tamahere ward, along with the North East Waikato Committee which covers Mangatawhiri, Mangatangi and Maramarua. The local ward councillor for these areas is automatically appointed to the community committee as the Council representative.

Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 requires Council to adopt a code of conduct.  All elected members are required to comply with the code.  The Community Committees code of conduct is as follows:

In this section