COVID-19 UPDATE We are working through how we can safely open our public facilities in Level 2. Please click here for full details.
Skip to content
Stormwater - Ngaruawahia flood 1998

On this page

The urban network
The rural network
Owner responsibility
How you can help
'Metal fish' icons on drains
Stormwater catchment management plans

Stormwater discharges are generated through water running off land and areas where the water can't drain through (for example roads, paved streets, car parks and building rooftops). This can have a bad effect on our environment and the people, animals and plant life that rely on it.

Stormwater is not the same as wastewater: wastewater is carried through our wastewater system's pipes to a treatment plant where it is treated to a stage where it can be safely discharged into our waterways. Find out more about wastewater in our district.

The urban network

We maintain 132 km of piped drains and 25 km of open drains. One pump station is located in Huntly and one pump station is located in Ngaruawahia. There are also a number of stormwater pump stations in Huntly maintained by the Waikato Regional Council.

The network consists of a collection of catch pits, pipes, open drains and ponds which collect and dispose of stormwater.

We have installed EnviroPods into catch pits located in some recreational reserves as well as in the main streets of Raglan, Huntly and Ngaruawahia. These EnviroPod filters capture rubbish and pollutants within their mesh screens; this material would otherwise flow though the stormwater system into downstream rivers and waterways. The EnviroPod filters are programmed for regular maintenance which removes the contaminants.

Waikato District Council levies an urban drainage (stormwater) rate in Huntly, Ngaruawahia, Raglan, Te Kauwhata, Tuakau, Pokeno and the settlements of Horotiu, Matangi, Taupiri, Meremere and Port Waikato. Find out more in our fees and charges schedule.

Our rural network

Our district has 19.8 km of open drains which service our two rural drainage schemes: Tamahere and Travers Road. Some drainage schemes are also administered by the Waikato Regional Council

If you are a landowner in these areas, you have rights and responsibilities under the Land Drainage Act 1908.

Owner responsibility

Outside defined drainage areas, land drainage is the responsibility of the occupier of the property.

We have a role in conflict resolution defined by the Local Government Act 2002 and the Land Drainage Act 1908. We provide advice on request to minimise problems and conflicts.

Give us a call on our freephone 0800 492 452 if you need advice or assistance.

How you can help

Help us keep our stormwater drains free from pollutants and/or waste. This will in turn help protect the waterways they drain into.

1. Do not hose chemicals that are used for cleaning concrete or washing your house into the stormwater catch pits.
2. Do no tip any commercial waste product into stormwater catch pits including oil and food waste.
3. Do not tip oil, mud, paint, cleaning detergents and other chemicals into stormwater catch pits.
4. Place litter in rubbish bins, as this helps to prevent blockages from rubbish material that enters into the stormwater pipe network and eventually ends up in our rivers and ocean.

Find out more about how your actions can impact on water supply and wastewater. Read about how you can save water with Smart Water.

'Metal fish' icons on drains

Have you noticed the metal 'fish icon' on our stormwater grates? The fish represents our native giant Kokopu which lives in the Waikato River and gully streams.

The fish icon on our stormwater drains reminds us that what we put into the stormwater system will end up in our waterways (rivers, streams, lakes and the sea), which could harm aquatic life and animals that live there. This includes oil, mud, paint, cleaning detergents, cigarette butts, discarded plastic wraps, water bottles and other rubbish.

Think before you sink!

Stormwater catchment management plans

Find out about our stormwater catchment management plans for Pokeno, Port Waikato, Tamahere, Te Kauwhata and Tuakau.


To view maps such as drain plans, please refer to the 'utility' module HERE.

Related documents

Compliance reports